Unlimited liability companyGuernsey
What it takes to form, own and run an other legal form in Guernsey, and how its profit is taxed. Each figure links to the page it was read from.
This company type
At a glance
Quote
In Guernsey, in respect of the liability of its members, a company can be limited (by shares or by guarantee), unlimited, or mixed liability.
Quote
Incorporation - standard £100 Incorporated within 24 hours
Quote
There are three rates of tax for companies, depending on the source of the income that the company has.
Form it
Who registers it
- Registry
- Formed without visiting
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Formed online
- Yes
What it takes to form
- A notary
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- A resident director
- Not required
- Paying up the capital
- Not in our records
Own it
Who may own and run it
- Directors
- At least 1 · none need live there · a company may be one
Quote
A company must have at least one director.
- Shareholders
- At least 1 · nominees allowed
Quote
At least one founder member,
- Members
- At least 1 · one person may form it alone
Quote
At least one founder member,
- A local company secretary
- Not required
Quote
All companies must have: - At least one founder member, - A registered office address situated in Guernsey, - At least one director, - A resident agent who is either a Guernsey resident director of the company or a CSP
- A local registered agent
- Required
Quote
A resident agent is also required (some exemptions apply, see resident agent guidance below ).
Each year, at the registry
- Annual registry fee
- GBP 260 (about €305)
Quote
Annual Validation - Category 6 company - non-licenced companies (not CSP administered) £260
- Accounts on the public record
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Audit for a small company
- Required
Quote
The members of a company may pass a waiver resolution exempting the company from the requirement to have their accounts audited.
- Audit
- Not in our records
Important dates
When each obligation falls due, as the authority states it.
- Annual validation with the Registry, between 1 January and the last day of February
- 28 February
With Guernsey Registry
Rule records 28 February; the deadline is the last day of February, which is 29 February in leap years. Annual validation fee £260 for Category 6; other categories £525 to £1,050.
- Notify a change of director or resident agent through the online system
- 14 days after change of officers
With Guernsey Registry (online services portal)
Resident agent proof of appointment must be uploaded with the change.
What is public
- Directors
- Public
Quote
Details of the directors is available by ordering a 'Statement of the Register'.
- Shareholders
- Not recorded
Quote
Details of the directors is available by ordering a 'Statement of the Register'.
Tax
Tax on profit
How this company type is taxed, which can differ from its place’s headline rate.
Varies · 0–20%
Company standard rate 0% on ordinary income; intermediate rate 10% and higher rate 20% by source of income, as stated on the Revenue Service page. Tax on distributions to Guernsey-resident beneficial members applies where income is taxed below 20%.
Quote
There are three rates of tax for companies, depending on the source of the income that the company has.
- CFC rules in Guernsey
- Not in our records
Close it
Closing it
The other end, which most guides leave out.
Not in our records Route, Statutory fee: none of these is in our records for the Unlimited liability company.
Every business in Guernsey
VAT
- VAT or sales tax
- None levied
Guernsey charges no GST or VAT today: VAT is a UK tax and the Bailiwick lies outside the UK's fiscal territory, and the States of Guernsey describes the 3% GST as a change to be implemented from quarter 1 2029 under the 2026 Tax Reform package. The agreed package moves GST to 4% and then 5% at 24-month intervals, with 0% GST on food from small independent suppliers and on disability-adapted vehicles. Customs duty is charged on imports; the audit trail for a 2029 rate change is the tax reform pages cited.
Quote
Consumption tax changes from quarter 1 2029: Implementing a goods and services tax (GST) at 3%.
Payment and banking services
None of the services whose lists we hold names Guernsey. Each provider, and what a listing means.
Reference
Its name and code
- Kind
- Other legal formDerived our grouping, the same words in every country
- Name in law
- Unlimited liability company
- ISO 20275 code
- YVZDSecondary GLEIF, Entity Legal Forms code list