Mixed liability company MLGuernsey
What it takes to form, own and run a private limited company in Guernsey, and how its profit is taxed. Each figure links to the page it was read from.
This company type
At a glance
Quote
In Guernsey, in respect of the liability of its members, a company can be limited (by shares or by guarantee), unlimited, or mixed liability.
Quote
Incorporation - standard £100 Incorporated within 24 hours
Quote
There are three rates of tax for companies, depending on the source of the income that the company has.
Form it
Who registers it
- Registry
- Formed without visiting
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Formed online
- Yes
What it takes to form
- A notary
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- A resident director
- Not required
- Paying up the capital
- Not in our records
Own it
Who may own and run it
- Directors
- At least 1 · none need live there · a company may be one
Quote
A company must have at least one director.
- Shareholders
- At least 1 · nominees allowed
Quote
At least one founder member,
- Members
- At least 1 · one person may form it alone
Quote
At least one founder member,
- A local company secretary
- Not required
Quote
All companies must have: - At least one founder member, - A registered office address situated in Guernsey, - At least one director, - A resident agent who is either a Guernsey resident director of the company or a CSP
- A local registered agent
- Required
Quote
A resident agent is also required (some exemptions apply, see resident agent guidance below ).
Each year, at the registry
- Annual registry fee
- GBP 260 (about €305)
Quote
Annual Validation - Category 6 company - non-licenced companies (not CSP administered) £260
- Accounts on the public record
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Audit for a small company
- Required
Quote
The members of a company may pass a waiver resolution exempting the company from the requirement to have their accounts audited.
- Audit
- Not in our records
Important dates
When each obligation falls due, as the authority states it.
- Annual validation with the Registry, between 1 January and the last day of February
- 28 February
With Guernsey Registry
Rule records 28 February; the deadline is the last day of February, which is 29 February in leap years. Annual validation fee £260 for Category 6; other categories £525 to £1,050.
- Notify a change of director or resident agent through the online system
- 14 days after change of officers
With Guernsey Registry (online services portal)
Resident agent proof of appointment must be uploaded with the change.
What is public
- Directors
- Public
Quote
Details of the directors is available by ordering a 'Statement of the Register'.
- Shareholders
- Not recorded
Quote
Details of the directors is available by ordering a 'Statement of the Register'.
Tax
Tax on profit
How this company type is taxed, which can differ from its place’s headline rate.
Varies · 0–20%
Company standard rate 0% on ordinary income; intermediate rate 10% and higher rate 20% by source of income, as stated on the Revenue Service page. Tax on distributions to Guernsey-resident beneficial members applies where income is taxed below 20%.
Quote
There are three rates of tax for companies, depending on the source of the income that the company has.
- CFC rules in Guernsey
- Not in our records
Close it
Closing it
The other end, which most guides leave out.
Not in our records Route, Statutory fee: none of these is in our records for the ML.
Every business in Guernsey
VAT
- VAT or sales tax
- None levied
Guernsey charges no GST or VAT today: VAT is a UK tax and the Bailiwick lies outside the UK's fiscal territory, and the States of Guernsey describes the 3% GST as a change to be implemented from quarter 1 2029 under the 2026 Tax Reform package. The agreed package moves GST to 4% and then 5% at 24-month intervals, with 0% GST on food from small independent suppliers and on disability-adapted vehicles. Customs duty is charged on imports; the audit trail for a 2029 rate change is the tax reform pages cited.
Quote
Consumption tax changes from quarter 1 2029: Implementing a goods and services tax (GST) at 3%.
Payment and banking services
None of the services whose lists we hold names Guernsey. Each provider, and what a listing means.
Reference
Its name and code
- Kind
- Private limited companyDerived our grouping, the same words in every country
- Name in law
- Mixed liability company (ML)
- ISO 20275 code
- NGR5Secondary GLEIF, Entity Legal Forms code list