Limited partnership LPNigeria
What it takes to form, own and run a limited partnership in Nigeria, and how its profit is taxed. Each figure links to the page it was read from.
This company type
At a glance
Quote
shall consist of one or more persons called general partners, who shall be liable for all debts and obligations of the firm, and one or more persons called limited partners.
Quote
A limited partnership shall not consist of more than 20 persons.
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
Quote
The gains or profits of a partner from a partnership shall be the
Form it
Who registers it
- Registry
- Formed without visiting
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Formed online
- Yes
What it takes to form
Not in our records A notary, A resident director, Paying up the capital: none of these is in our records for the LP.
Own it
Who may own and run it
- Directors
- Does not apply
- Shareholders
- Does not apply
- Members
- At least 2 · at most 20
Quote
A limited partnership shall not consist of more than 20 persons.
- A local company secretary
- Does not apply
- A local registered agent
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
Each year, at the registry
- Annual registry fee
- NGN 5,000
Quote
e. Annual Returns and other post incorporation and 5,000 each
- Accounts on the public record
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Audit for a small company
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Audit
- Not in our records
Important dates
When each obligation falls due, as the authority states it.
Not in our records No dates for the LP are in our records.
What is public
- Shareholders
- Public
Quote
A person may inspect the statements filed by the Commission
Tax
Tax on profit
How this company type is taxed, which can differ from its place’s headline rate.
Through owners
A partner's gains or profits include his share of the partnership profits, taxed in his own hands (Nigeria Tax Act 2025 s.15).
Quote
The gains or profits of a partner from a partnership shall be the
- CFC rules in Nigeria
- Not in our records
Close it
Closing it
The other end, which most guides leave out.
- Route
- The registry's fee schedule lists a voluntary striking-off fee for limited partnerships and its service list includes supervision of winding-up of a limited partnership; the governing sections were not read.
Quote
g. Voluntary Striking-off 25,000
- Statutory fee
- NGN 25,000
Quote
g. Voluntary Striking-off 25,000
Every business in Nigeria
VAT
- Standard rate
- Not in our recordsThe tax authority’s pages have not been read for Nigeria.
Payment and banking services
1 service names Nigeria on its own list: Stripe. Each provider, and what a listing means.
Reference
Its name and code
- Kind
- Limited partnershipDerived our grouping, the same words in every country
- Name in law
- Limited partnership (LP)
- ISO 20275 code
- LOJLSecondary GLEIF, Entity Legal Forms code list