Société anonyme SAMorocco
What it takes to form, own and run a public limited company in Morocco, and how its profit is taxed. Each figure links to the page it was read from.
This company type
At a glance
Quote
Les actionnaires ne sont responsables qu’à concurrence de leurs apports;
Quote
composé de trois membres au moins et de douze membres au plus
Quote
Le capital minimum est de 3 millions de DH pour les SA faisant appel public à l’épargne et 300.000 DH dans le cas contraire.
Form it
Who registers it
- Registry
- Formed without visiting
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Formed online
- Yes
What it takes to form
- A notary
- Not required
- A resident director
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- Paying up the capital
- Cash shares are paid up at subscription by at least a quarter of nominal value; shares in kind are paid up in full on issue.
Quote
Les actions en numéraire doivent être libérées lors de la souscription d’au moins le 1/4 de leur valeur nominale.
Own it
Who may own and run it
- Directors
- At least 3 · a company may be one
Quote
composé de trois membres au moins et de douze membres au plus
- Shareholders
- At least 5
Quote
sans que ce nombre soit inférieur à cinq.
- Members
- At least 5
Quote
Le nombre d’actionnaires ne peut être inférieur à 5.
- A local company secretary
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
- A local registered agent
- Not stated
The registry’s and the law’s own pages do not mention it.
Each year, at the registry
- Annual registry fee
- Not in our records
- Accounts on the public record
- Yes
Quote
Deux exemplaires des états de synthèses accompagnées d’une copie du rapport du ou des commissaires aux comptes doivent être déposées au
- Audit for a small company
- Required
Quote
Il doit être désigné dans chaque société anonyme, un ou plusieurs commissaires aux comptes
- Audit
- One or more statutory auditors must be appointed in every société anonyme (Loi 17-95 art. 159); at least two where it makes a public offering.
Quote
Il doit être désigné dans chaque société anonyme, un ou plusieurs commissaires aux comptes
Important dates
When each obligation falls due, as the authority states it.
- Notice of the constitution in the Bulletin officiel and in a legal-notices newspaper, afte
- 30 days after incorporation
With Bulletin officiel and a journal d'annonces légales
Loi 5-96 art. 96 / Loi 17-95 art. 33: within a period not exceeding thirty days after registration. The OMPIC page puts it as 'within one month'. Art. 119 of Loi 5-96 makes statutory periods 'délais francs'.
What is public
- Directors
- Public
Quote
les prénom, nom, qualité et domicile des administrateurs ou des membres du conseil de surveillance et du ou des commissaires aux comptes
Tax
Tax on profit
How this company type is taxed, which can differ from its place’s headline rate.
Varies · 20–35%
Corporate tax (impôt sur les sociétés): 20% of net profit; 35% where net profit is 100,000,000 MAD or more (Code général des impôts art. 19-I-A and B, as restated by Loi de finances 50-22 and left unchanged on those lines by Loi de finances 50-25); 40% for credit institutions and insurers. An SA is a share company; the code's scope article (art. 2) was not itself readable, only the rate article.
Quote
« A.– 20% ;
- CFC rules in Morocco
- Not in our records
Close it
Closing it
The other end, which most guides leave out.
Not in our records Route, Statutory fee: none of these is in our records for the SA.
Every business in Morocco
VAT
- The tax
- Value added tax (VAT)
Quote
La taxe sur la valeur ajoutée qui est une taxe sur le chiffre d'affaires s'applique
- Standard rate
- 20%
CGI 2026 art. 99: 20% normal rate (A); 10% (B) for listed supplies; the article was last restated by Loi de finances 55-23 for 2024. The 10% list read includes accommodation and restaurant services, banking and credit operations, edible oils, rice and solar panels.
Quote
Le taux de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée est fixé à 655 : A. - 20 % 656 ; B. - 10 %
- Other rates
- 10% Listed supplies (CGI art. 99-B), including accommodation and restaurant services, banking and credit operations, edible oils, rice and pasta, solar panels and water heaters
Quote
Le taux de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée est fixé à 655 : A. - 20 % 656 ; B. - 10 %
- Registration threshold
- MAD 2,000,000
Taxable turnover of the previous year, applies to retail traders (commercants) only (CGI art. 89-I-2-b). Not a general threshold: manufacturers, wholesalers, importers, installers and 'toute prestation de service' are taxable without one (art. 89-I-1, 2-a, 3, 5, 10-b).; year
Quote
les commerçants dont le chiffre d'affaires taxable réalisé au cours de l'année précédente est égal ou supérieur à deux millions (2 000 000) de dirhams
- A foreign company
- Registers from its first taxable supply; needs a local tax representative
CGI art. 115: a person with no establishment in Morocco making taxable supplies to a customer established in Morocco must accredit a representative resident in Morocco; without one, the Moroccan customer declares and pays the tax (self-assessment, or withholding where the customer's activity is outside VAT). Art. 115 bis: a non-resident supplier of digital services to non-taxable Moroccan customers, with no representative, registers on the dedicated platform and files a quarterly return (before the end of the first month of each quarter) with payment and no right to deduct. Non-residents are on the monthly regime (art. 108-I).
Quote
doit accréditer auprès de l’administration fiscale un représentant domicilié au Maroc
- Returns filed
- Depends on the business
Quote
les contribuables dont le chiffre d'affaires taxable réalisé au cours de l'année écoulée atteint ou dépasse un million (1.000.000) de dirhams
- Tax authority
- Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI), Ministry of Economy and Finance, Kingdom of Morocco
Payment and banking services
1 service names Morocco on its own list: Paysera. Each provider, and what a listing means.
Reference
Its name and code
- Kind
- Public limited companyDerived our grouping, the same words in every country
- Name in law
- Société anonyme (SA)
- Identifier
- MA-SAA form ISO 20275 does not list.