Namibia
Namibia: 3 company types, its taxes, banking and business environment.
Forming a company
Company types in Namibia
The 3 forms a founder can choose here, each with its own figures. Open one for its sources.
Doing business here
Business accounts
Providers whose own published list of countries names Namibia. A listing means a company formed here may apply, not that it will be accepted.
Not in our records No provider's country list has been read for Namibia.
EU listings
Two lists a bank checks when it opens an account for a company or its owner.
- EU high-risk third countries (AML)
- Not listed
- EU non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes
- Not listedOfficial EUR-Lex, 52026XG01465, Annex I as of 2026-02-17
Official sites
The authorities’ own sites for Namibia: where to register, file and check.
Blocs and agreements
The trade arrangements Namibia belongs to, as each arrangement’s own texts state them: since when, and what each covers. What a membership means for a business is for you to judge.
- African Continental Free Trade Area
- Free trade area · since 30 May 2019
Covers goods, services.
Quote
means a Member State that has ratified or acceded to this Agreement and for which the Agreement is in force
- Southern African Customs Union
- Customs union · since 15 July 2004
Covers goods, a common external tariff.
Quote
This Agreement shall, subject to Article 6, remain open for accession by any other State.
- SADC Free Trade Area
- Free trade area
Covers goods.
Quote
13 SADC Member States are participating in the Free Trade Area (FTA) while three are not yet participating, namely Angola, DRC and the Comoros.
Regional and customs arrangements only, 36 of them; bilateral trade agreements are not yet in our records.
Tax
Company tax
Tax, and what the company owes the registry each year.
- Corporate income tax
- 32%
- Distributions
- Not in our records
- Audit
- Not in our records
- Small-company relief
- Not in our records
- Annual obligations
- Not in our records
- Annual registry fee
- NAD 120
VAT
The tax on what the company sells in Namibia, and when it must register, as the tax authority states it.
- Standard rate
- Not in our recordsThe tax authority’s pages have not been read for Namibia.
Tax calendar
When the main returns and payments fall due in Namibia, tax year 2026, as the tax authority states it.
- Corporate tax return
- 7 months after the end of the accounting period · each year
NamRA page 'I own a one-man business' lists 'Important Dates to remember': companies and close corporations file 7 months after year end. The page does not state a weekend shift.
Quote
Important Dates to remember Individual business owners – 30 June Companies and Close Corporations – 7 months after year end
- Corporate tax, final payment
- Not in our records
namra.org.na/individual-tax/page/i-am-a-provisional-taxpayer inaccessible when checked
- Corporate tax, instalments
- Stated; see the note
Two provisional payments a year. First: within six months of the beginning of the financial year, paying half of the annual estimate (counted from the start of the year, so it cannot be expressed in this rule form; it falls mid-year). Second: not later than the last day of the financial year, paying the total tax due; the rule recorded here is that second payment (zero months after the period end). No shift stated.
- Personal income-tax return
- 30 June · each year
NamRA: a self-assessment return of income is due on or before 30 June of each year (salaried individuals, and individual business owners). The pages do not state a weekend shift.
Quote
Each person must submit a self-assessment return of income: Individual Salaried (brown or blue tax form) on or before 30 June of each year.
- Personal income tax, final payment
- Not in our records
namra.org.na/individual-tax/page/i-earn-a-monthly-salary inaccessible when checked
- Personal income tax, instalments
- 30 August · twice a year
Two provisional returns with payments a year: first by 30 August paying half the annual estimate, second not later than 28 February paying the total tax due. The rule recorded is the first date (30 August); the second is 28 February. No shift stated.
Quote
First one by 30 August and pay half the annual estimate; and Second one not later than 28 February and pay the total tax due.
- VAT return
- Day 25 of the following month
NamRA VAT page: a registered person must submit a VAT return on or before the 25th day of the month following the end of the period. The length of the tax period (monthly or two-monthly) is not stated on the page, so frequency is left null; months_after 1 is as stated (month following the end of the period). No shift stated.
Quote
A registered person must submit a VAT return on or before 25th day of the month following the end of the period.
- Payroll withholding
- Day 20 of the following month · each month
NamRA Employee Tax page: payment of the deducted tax and submission of the employer's return is due within 20 days after the end of the month in which the amount was deducted. No shift stated.
Quote
Due Date for the payment of the deducted tax and submission of the employer’s return is within 20 days after the end of the month during which the amount was deducted from the employee’s remuneration.
Running the company
Running a company here
Not in our records The authorities’ pages on running a company have not been read for Namibia yet.
Economy and trade
What it exports
Goods Namibia exported, by product, as a share of its goods exports each year. Exports include goods passing through for re-export. A share describes Namibia’s own trade; it does not compare places.
| Product (HS heading) | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | Value, 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diamonds, whether or not worked, but not mounted or set HS 7102 | 17.0% | 15.2% | 14.6% | US$1.2 bn |
| Uranium or thorium ores and concentrates HS 2612 | 4.3% | 2.8% | 13.5% | US$1.1 bn |
| Radioactive chemical elements and radioactive isotopes (including the fissile or fertile chemical elements and isotopes) and their compounds; mixtures and residues containing these products HS 2844 | 9.2% | 10.7% | 10.6% | US$847 m |
| Gold (including gold plated with platinum), unwrought or in semi-manufactured forms, or in powder form HS 7108 | 13.9% | 19.7% | 10.2% | US$821 m |
| Fish, frozen, excluding fish fillets and other fish meat of heading 0304 HS 0303 | 5.6% | 6.1% | 4.7% | US$378 m |
| Refined copper and copper alloys, unwrought HS 7403 | 0.84% | 4.2% | 4.5% | US$365 m |
| Unrefined copper; copper anodes for electrolytic refining HS 7402 | 1.2% | 2.4% | 4.3% | US$346 m |
| Fish fillets and other fish meat (whether or not minced), fresh, chilled or frozen HS 0304 | 5.0% | 5.6% | 4.1% | US$326 m |
| Petroleum oils and oils obtained from bituminous minerals, other than crude; preparations not elsewhere specified or included, containing by weight 70 % or more of petroleum oils or of oils obtained from bituminous minerals, these oils being the basic constituents of the preparations; waste oils HS 2710 | 5.3% | 5.0% | 3.6% | US$289 m |
| Copper ores and concentrates HS 2603 | 1.8% | 2.3% | 2.6% | US$209 m |
Total goods exports, 2024: US$8 bn. The ten largest headings are shown.